New Appointments to Victoria Foundation Board

NEWS RELEASE – For Immediate Release 

Victoria, B.C., January 15, 2014 – The New Year brings some new faces to the Victoria Foundation board of directors as Rasool Rayani takes over as chair while James Darke and Ian Wong join the board as new directors.

In 2001, Rayani co-founded Metalogix Software, which grew to become a leading vendor of tools for the enterprise IT market. In 2008, he sold the company and switched gears to become the owner and operator of the Victoria-based Peoples Pharmacy group. He continues to maintain his passion for technology as an active angel investor, and is involved with several Victoria-based tech companies. Rayani is a volunteer coordinator for the Victoria ALS Walk and he also volunteers his time as a mentor and advisor to young start-ups.  He is also a 2014  Vancouver Island Top 20 Under 40 finalist.

James Darke is a Vice President and Investment Counsellor with PH&N Investment Counsel. He joined PH&N in 1996 and has held a variety of positions within the firm, including being a Partner and being a head of the Victoria office from 2004. Prior to joining PH&N, James spent over 20 years in various management positions within the Canadian banking and trust industries. James was raised in Victoria and since returning in 2004 he has been active with a number of local industries, charitable and sports organizations in the community. He joined the Victoria Foundation Investment Committee in 2008.

Ian Wong has worked within the Government of British Columbia since 1997 and is currently a Senior Portfolio Manager with the Investment Capital Branch.  He is a Chartered Professional Accountant, Certified Management Accountant, as well as holding a Bachelor’s degree in Commerce (Accounting) and a diploma in Business Administration (Finance).  His volunteer work has included being Treasurer for the Victoria Chinatown Care Centre and Co-Chair of the Victoria Chinatown Care Society’s annual fundraising event. Ian is a third generation Victorian with a great sense of belonging.  He, with his family, enjoys all that Victoria has to offer and is committed to giving back to the community.

Completing their terms on the board are Peter Malcolm, Steve McKerrell and Judy Pryce. Past board chair Deirdre Roberts will continue to sit on the board  along with returning board members Sandra Harper, Andrew Jackson, Karen DeMeo, Mia Maki, Grace Wong-Sneddon and Bob Worth. Chuck Burkett remains as president of the foundation’s honorary governors.

– 30 –

For more information, please contact:

Robert Janus, Director of Communications
Victoria Foundation
P. 250.381.5532      C. 250.886.6112