New Appointments to Victoria Foundation Board

NEWS RELEASE – For Immediate Release:

New Appointments to Victoria Foundation Board

Victoria, B.C., February 3, 2015 – The New Year brings some new faces to the Victoria Foundation as Kyman Chan and Patrick Kelly join the board as new directors, and Michael Cridge, Sang-Kiet Ly and Erin Shaw are welcomed as new committee members.

Kyman Chan is a chartered accountant and partner in the Victoria office of Hayes Stewart Little & Co, a regional firm where he leads the assurance practice. Kyman was born and raised in Victoria and has a well-developed sense of community that he demonstrates through his volunteer roles including as a board member, committee member, and coach. His past appointments include board chair of Camosun College, treasurer of the Royal and McPherson Theatres Society, and council member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of BC.

Patrick Kelly is a member of the Leq:amel First Nation (Sto:lo Nation.) He operates a private consulting business providing services in economic, community and organizational development, governance, planning and management. In addition to his role with the Victoria Foundation, Patrick volunteers extensively, including Governor with the Law Foundation of BC; Co-Chair, Banff Centre Indigenous Program Council; International Advisory Board Member, Gustavson School of Business, UVic; Ch’nook Indigenous Advisory Board Member, Sauder School of Business, UBC; and Founding President, BC Aboriginal Golf Association. Patrick has held executive and management roles with the Canadian Executive Service Organization, the Missing Women’s Commission of Inquiry, Indian and Northern Affairs Canada, and others.

Michael Cridge, Director & Senior Private Banker at BMO Harris Private Banking, and Sang-Kiet Ly, Partner at KPMG, both join the Victoria Foundation’s Finance & Audit Committee. Lawyer Erin Shaw joins the Community Engagement Committee.

Completing his term on the board is Bob Worth. Past-chair Deirdre Roberts will continue to sit on the board along with Board Chair Rasool Rayani and returning board members Andrew Jackson, Karen DeMeo, James Darke, Mia Maki, Mary Mouat, Ian Wong, and Grace Wong-Sneddon. Chuck Burkett remains as president of the foundation’s honorary governors.


Editors Please Note:  Photos of Kyman Chan and Patrick Kelly are available at the following link:

Background: Established in 1936, the Victoria Foundation is Canada’s second oldest community foundation and the fifth largest of nearly 200 across the nation. The Victoria Foundation manages charitable gifts from donors whose generosity allows them to create permanent, income-earning funds. The proceeds from these funds are then distributed as grants for charitable or educational purposes. To date it has invested more than $144 million in people, projects and non-profit organizations that strengthen communities in B.C. and throughout Canada. Read more about the Victoria Foundation’s vision and mandate.


For more information, please contact:

Robert Janus, Director of Communications
Victoria Foundation
P. 250.381.5532      C. 250.886.6112