Changes made at Victoria Foundation Board

A new year brings new changes at the Victoria Foundation, including some shuffling of board members, staff and committee members for 2019.

John van Cuylenborg

The Victoria Foundation Board Chair, Grace Wong Sneddon, welcomes John van Cuylenborg as its newest member. John is a lawyer and partner with Cook Roberts LLP, which he joined in 2000 after being called to the BC bar in 1993. John earned his BA in International Relations from UBC, and his law degree from UVic. He previously served 3 terms on the Board of the UVic Foundation and has been an active member of the Canadian Bar Association. Raised in Victoria, John appreciates the privilege of living in this community and the opportunity to contribute.

John joins our continuing board members: Chair Grace Wong Sneddon, Vice Chair James Darke, Treasurer Kyman Chan, Mary E. Mouat, Carey Newman, Ian Wong, Lori Elder, Michael Cridge and Zaman Velji.

In other Board news, past Board Chair Rasool Rayani is the new President of the Foundation’s Honorary Governors, taking over from outgoing president Deirdre Roberts, who will remain as an Honorary Governor.  Also, Past Board Chair Patrick Kelly will continue to work closely with the Victoria Foundation through his new appointment as Indigenous Cultural Advisor. And the Board is saying goodbye to Mia Maki, who has reached the end of her six-year term. The Victoria Foundation thanks Mia for her contributions and wishes her all the best.

Download the full press release